88.9% would refer friends and family to us

1 stars Verified customer

I.i felt like it was about a sale to. To sell the VIP plan ..

i felt uncomfortable. I'll never go back

1 stars Customer since 2016

Worst experience i had felt like i was at a used car dealership sell sell sell thats all i got from there

1 stars Verified customer

worst dentist experience I've ever had

including the dentist and the hygienist

3 stars Verified customer

Very professional office. Try to call the office directly rather the 800 #. The rep gave myself and wife a 10:00 appt. We arrived at 9:40, just to find out I as put in for 11. Still the office completed my xrays..I didn't get the cleaning I was originally scheduled for but that wasn't the office fault but rather the rep from the 800 #. Still although they tried to accommodate me and weren't successful...everyone I realty with was kind and professional. This is a nice and clean office too....A+ rated

5 stars Customer since 2012

Every time I visit the office Marjie has given me a wonderful experience I am so glad that I have decided to go back to the dentist to maintain my teeth!

5 stars Customer since 2012

Marjie is a true asset to Gentle Dentle. She makes an otherwise unpleasant experience simple, and easy I will refer everyone I know to Gentle Dentle and to request Marjie.

5 stars Customer since 2005

Grizelda is only getting better than she has consistently been of five plus years that I have been privileged to experience. She is excellent and my teeth have been in healthy state. thank you.

4 stars Customer since 2007

i enjoy coming to gental dental they are very friendly and treat you very nice .i especailly like Dr.Landano shes great

5 stars Verified customer

Everything was great! Griselda Zelaya did a great job with my teeth and has improved alot. she cares about her patients and that is very important to have in the dental industry. 5/5 on service :)

2 stars Customer since 2011

I was very impressed with the professionalism of this hygenist, her caring politeness, but did not like the fact that I sat in the waiting room past my appointment time.

Sage Dental of West Palm Beach replied:

Dear Helga,

We are sorry you were not able to be seen exactly at the time you were scheduled. We take our patients time very seriously, but unfortunately, some times patients need a little more time then expected to give them all the care they require.