86.1% would refer friends and family to us

4 stars Customer since 2017

When I walked inside of the shop they welcomed me, I was very pleased with my visit, Angelina was so pleasant, she answered all of my questions and she washed my hair and she was careful while braiding my hair and that meant allot to me.!.. I requested Candiance to do my hair, I read reviews about her and I wanted to share the. experience. I must say Candiance raised the bar!! I was VERY PLEASED with my hair!! I do recommend the Weave Shop. Thanks, Gloria

5 stars Customer since 2017

Great customer service ! Everyone is always professional and ready to serve customers.

4 stars Customer since 2017

I enjoyed the first experience. Brought my own Hunny bun hair ( the best hair ever) from the HB shop instead of at the weave shop. It is 15.00 cheaper to bring your own than to buy it there. Hair braiding was tight. I got a net and a full sew in. Only issue is I asked for some water and the braider claimed they didn't have anything to offer. But when I asked the sewer, she ran and got me a deer park water from the back! Didn't appreciate the lie. Additionally, not the best at cutting the hair into the style your asking. They only cut the front. Doesn't look very natural. Will need to see my hair stylist for a more evened out style from all sides.

3 stars Customer since 2017

My experience was very unoriginal. .. I entered and was given waivers to immediately sign and the paid $70 for a service that is supposed to be the $50 weave spot... I found that peculiar. .. However I paid.. And less than 1 week later the sew in I received began to come aloose... Seriously... The work want top notch but the pay out was. Come on now! So I will be returning today for my refund or to have my hair properly installed.

The Weave Shop Charlotte replied:

Ms. Dacia Lacose, Thank you for your feedback i truly apologize it was a miss understanding about the price and also about your track coming loose. helpful we can fix any issue you had. Thank you

5 stars Customer since 2013

Awesome atmosphere to be in. My stylist Crystal always makes sure I look good. I won't go anyplace else. Been coming to this shop for years.

1 stars Customer since 2013

Went and got my hair done tracks were starting to come out went and got it tightened. Went back another time my whole weave was starting to come out and I just had got it done wasn't even 2 weeks yet. Stylist told me there was nothing to be done cause my hair was coming out but no one decides to inform me of that. Went back with my mother suggested I do a quick weave and informed me they would take my weave out for free but would charge me for the style. Why are you charging me for something you messed up on. That was money I basically wasted. The weave shop has lost me as a client.

The Weave Shop Charlotte replied:

Ms. EiDena Davis, Thank You for your feedback I apologize for you leaving the salon and your tracks were starting to come out. I'm hope we can fix the issue you had because you have been a loyal client. Whenever you have a moment could you gave us a call because we want to fix the issue. I have try to call you on several times. So please call us to fix the issue. Thank you

1 stars Customer since 2014

Not good at all.. I have been a customer for 4 years had no problem. Had a bad experience with them towards my daughter.. will not take my service there anymore..

The Weave Shop Charlotte replied:

Ms. Tina Dukes, Thank You for your feedback. We deeply apologize for any issue you had with us doing your daughter hair. I hope in the near future you will change your mind. Any issue that you have we definitely would like to solve it.

5 stars Customer since 2017

Great environment. Everyone spoke to me they have an awesome system that helps each client get in a chair the moment they walk in they even offered snacks to keep they clients boosted while heads were being done GREAT JOB LADIES & GENTS!!!!!

5 stars Customer since 2016

I love going to The Weave Shop! It's always a good time and the staff is super knowledgeable and professional! My experience this last time was great but my hair was not done correctly! My braid down was done at the top of my head instead of in the back, crown area of my head and my sew-in showed all the seams! I noticed it immediately and called to see if I could come back! Jeremy, the stylist who did my hair, offered me his days and gave me the opportunity to come back in so that we could discuss my options! He listened and was very honest about the job that had been done! After trying to fix it, he told me the only way to get it right was to take it all the way down and start over! He took out the sew-in, re-braided my hair himself, and slayed my sew-in like he normally does! What I appreciated the most was his honesty and his professionalism! He didn't try to fast talk me or make me think I didn't know how my hair was supposed to look! He acknowledged how I felt and TOOK HIS TIME and made sure things were right before I left! Although painful to sit through another sew-in, lol, he really took care of me and I always have time for that! Thanks!

5 stars Customer since 2017

Service was very good i love the amount of team work in the place and the system that they have to ensure that each client is handled as soon as they enter the building two thumbs up from me and i will be back soon!!!!