100.0% would refer friends and family to us

5 stars Customer since 2014

Mike and Jessica did a great job on my denture lab reline on 16 Sept. 2014.Thanks so much.

Peter J. King

5 stars Customer since 2006

All The Staff Was Very Caring Very Excellent Service All Very Courteous Very Friendly And Warm All Very Professional All The Doctors Were Great And A Wonderful Dental Hygienist They Were All Great Professionals t Are The BestDental Practice Anywhere Rated Number One A Delight To Be There Very Relaxing I Would Highly Recommend Anyone Anytime.Looking Forward In Coming Back.

1 stars Verified customer

I had a crown put in 2 weeks ago. It always felt uncomfortable so I went back a week ago. They took some xrays and told me the crown was not properly put on and they told me they had to redo the crown. Two days later i go back for an impression. They had me waiting for 2+ hours to tell me that my tooth broke and i need a root canal! They are stating that i broke my tooth(which is under the crown that they put on and it was not broken 2 day before i went to them). When my daughter requested to speak to the office manager she refused to come to the phone. My daughter had to come to the office and still i need to pay more money for a dental work that was wrong since the beginning. Overall bad management skills and customer service! They treat their patients very poorly

Naples Towncare Dental replied:

It is unfortunate that your comments were submitted anonymously leaving us no way to research and verify this situation, or contact you to address your concerns. We apologize for not meeting your expectations, and we urge you to contact us so we may work to resolve this issue and earn you back as a satisfied patient.

1 stars Verified customer

I will never use you again, you did not numb my son properly making him afraid to go to dentist!!!

Naples Towncare Dental replied:

We apologize for any discomfort your son experienced during his appointment. Unfortunately, due to the anonymous review we cannot research and verify this situation or to contact you to address your concerns. We urge you to contact us so we may work to resolve this issue and earn you back as a satisfied patient.

5 stars Verified customer

I found the staff friendly, the office clean and the experience very good..

1 stars Verified customer

I was basically forced by insurance to name a dentist sight unseen and so far both dentist I have gone to have been more interested in money than the patient. Town Care Dental refuses to clean my teeth unless I have a more deeper, more EXPENSIVE, (insuance does not cover this cleaning)

done first. I have never had gum issues or any problems with my teeth other than your every day run of the mill problems. I told them I didn't want the expensive, deep cleaning, just the regular cleaning and they refused!!!! What kind of medical professional refuses treatment with no avenue of discussion????? This tells me that money comes first at this office.

Naples Towncare Dental replied:

First and foremost it is our philosophy to treat and provide the required dental care necessary to keep our patients oral health in the best possible condition. For that one reason alone we do not bill insurance companies for unnecessary procedures. Plus without a healthy set of gums to hold your teeth firmly in place you would not have much of a smile. Furthermore, periodontal disease is far more common then people think. If it isn?t detected and diagnosed early enough it can cause other health issues. That is why it is so important to have your gums checked regularly as well as your teeth. Here is some more information regarding periodontal disease: http://www.perio.org/consumer/types-gum-disease.html

1 stars Verified customer

I have not returned to your dentist office because I believe your facility is dirty. I would also complain that the girl who clean's my teeth stinks of cigarette smoke, and it is hard not to throw up when you smell that foul odor and at the same time someone is sticking suction down your throat. I sill not be back!

Naples Towncare Dental replied:

We appreciate your comments. We are so sorry that you felt that the clinical areas were not up to your standard for cleanliness.  We are so surprised to hear that since the one comment we hear most from patients is how clean we are compared to other dental offices.  Our rooms are cleaned daily and of course after every patient. Please know you can feel free to contact the office at any time if you have any questions regarding your treatment.

4 stars Verified customer

Wait was rather long, but staff was exceptionally friendly and thorough.

Naples Towncare Dental replied:

We apologize for the inconvenience. We are committed to providing quality dental care and under certain extenuating circumstances doctors may need to give extra attention to emergency patients. Please know that we would do the same for you if you were in that situation. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with your service and if you ever have anything else to add, please do not hesitate to contact the office.

3 stars Verified customer

You practice was recommended by a relative that I trust their judgment. I came for checkup. Had 18 x-rays, a very general exam, and given a two page list of suggested treatment. I expected to have some input on what was best to proceed with, and more information on dental health. Since I cannot do all of the suggestions it would of helped my dental health to have help to determine what I could proceed with. At this point, not sure I will return to use your services.

3 stars Verified customer

I went to naples town care dental the beginning of Jan. I had one tooth removed and three prepared to be capped. So far, no capes. I have called several times and I get a runaround. They have no idea when they will arrived and don' t know how to find out the lab. They told me the capes would be at their office in three weeks. It is the end of March and no capes.I have no complaints with the dentist,it is his office scheduler.

Naples Towncare Dental replied:

We pride ourselves in providing excellent patient experience each and every time you are in our office. We apologize for not meeting your expectations.