I was surprised to leave Philip Johnson Salon/Spa feeling as dissatisfied as I did. I do not get my hair cut that often since it grows very slowly and I am always worried about having a bad experience but I feel I had pretty normal expectations going in: I just wanted a couple inches off my hair with layering (a hair cut that I have had successfully in the past) and I even brought pictures to clarify/illustrate what I wanted to the stylist. I was excited for the included Aveda massage and style. The stylist listened to me as I explained what I wanted and then washed my hair and combed it out but did not check in a ton while she was cutting my hair, and was working in front of me a lot so that I couldn't actually see what she was doing but trusted she was following what we had discussed. When she finally turned me around after working for a while, I was frustrated because things that I had specified that I wanted (longer AND shorter layers) she had not done, while things I had specified that I absolutely did not want (the hair being cut horizontally at the bottom rather than my preferred U-shape) she had done. Working to fix these issues brought us a little closer to what I had actually wanted but shorter than I had intended since she had to cut off more hair to fix what she had already not done well and at some point I just gave up giving specified instructions and just wanted to leave before anything more got cut (meaning I pretty much gave up on getting my perfect hair cut that I had wanted). I asked her to curl my hair for the style and while she talked ceaselessly about the "amazing Aveda products" which are super expensive, using these products she did not even manage to successfully curl my hair and when I left the salon it was wavy at best and quickly falling out, yet reeked of chemical product. Finally, I was excited to have the massage I had chosen on the sheet they have you fill out when you arrive since my shoulders had been aching recently with lots of work and studying. Oh, but she hadn't even bothered to read the sheet and to know what I wanted and apparently had already given me a "scalp massage" during the course of the hair cut which I hadn't even realized - that's how rapid and bad the massage was. Her rubbing her hands quickly into my head for a minute is not what I wanted for a massage, nor was it relaxing. For what it is, the hair cut is not terrible. It certainly isn't what I wanted but I'm told by friends that it "doesn't look bad". Now I am going to have to wait many months for my hair to grow out again so that I can actually get it cut how the way I wanted to begin with. Overall, I'm sad to say, not great customer service or hair cut experience at Philip Johnson.
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. While we love our good reviews we also like to have critiques as well so we can better our service in the future. We want to make sure you have a great experience from the moment you walk in until the moment you leave. We train our service providers on consultations and that check in sheet should have been used to get the complimentary service that you requested. All of this will be addressed moving forward. Our manager, Josh, will be giving you call to see what we might be able to do to have you come in and receive a service we know that we can provide. Thank you again and we apologize that you were not satisfied.